Braide, Omotosho, Others To Be Decorated With NHEA Lifetime Achievement, Diaspora Award




Professor Ekanem Braide, Pharm(Sir) Thoephilus Omotosho, and Professor Joseph Aina will receive Lifetime Achievement awards from the Nigerian Healthcare Excellence Award (NHEA) on Friday at Eko Hotels and Suites in Lagos, while Professor Ohwofiemu E. Nwariaku will receive the Diaspora Excellence award. 

The winners include renowned Nigerian healthcare figures who have greatly contributed to the promotion of good health and treatment of various ailments, according to a statement issued by Moses Braimah, NHEA Director of Communication, Marketing & Strategy. 

Dr. Shola Alabi, NHEA Project Coordinator, says, "We are happy and extremely pleased with these outstanding Nigeria healthcare people who have made important contributions to the promotion of good health, knowledge, and treatments of many sorts of ailments within and outside the country."

"They ought to be honored and celebrated by everyone," Alabi concluded. 

Professor Ekanem Ikpi Braide (OFR), a renowned parasitologist, epidemiologist, and academician, is the Provost of Arthur Jarvis University in Akpabuyo, as well as the former Vice Chancellor of Cross River State University of Technology (CRUTECH) in Calabar and the Pioneer Vice Chancellor of Federal University in Lafia. 

She has a Bachelor's degree in Zoology from the University of Ife, as well as Masters and Doctorate degrees in Parasitology/Epidemiology from Cornell University in the United States. She also has a Southampton University diploma in Epidemiological Methods. She has taught in a variety of settings.

Professor Joseph Oyeniyi  Aina is a distinguished nurse and an academician whose practice has touched many lives and has help in great measure to shape the profession in Nigeria. He started his nursing training at the Seventh-Day Adventist Hospital School of Nursing, Ile-Ife. He later got his Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Nursing from to the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Aina got his MSc and PhD from Hunter College of the City University and New York University’s  School of Education respectively. He retired in 2021 from Babcock University. Professor Aina has almost one hundred publications. He has many awards and citations to his credit.

Pharm( Sir) Adebowale Omotosho is an industrialist, philanthropist and Pharmacist. He started Bond Chemists which later metamorphose into Bond Chemical Industries Limited and now Bond Group with interest in diverse sectors. He has worked as a pharmacist with highly reputable multinational organizations both at home in Nigeria and abroad. He is a member of many professional bodies such as; the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain (MRPHARMS); Fellow Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (FPSN), etc.

Professor Ohwofiemu E. Nwariaku, who earned his medical degree from the University of Ibadan, is currently employed at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center (UTSW) in Dallas, Texas, where he is the Malcom O. Perry Professor of Surgery and Executive Vice Chair in the Department of Surgery, as well as Associate Dean for Global Health. He is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons and the Association of Academic Surgery's previous president. He was just named Chair of the Department of Surgery at the University of Utah's Spencer Fox Eccles School of Medicine. This will go into effect on July 1, 2022. 

Voting commenced on June 7, 2022 on for over 156 nominees in about 31 different award categories. It will end at midnight on June 21, 2022 two days preceding the award ceremony.

The purpose of the NHEA is to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to the growth and development of the Nigerian health sector in the previous year. 

PharmAccess Foundation, Sterling Bank, Tuberculosis LON 1 Project, Nigeria Medical Association, Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria, Association of Private General Medical Practitioners of Nigeria, and others support NHEA, the Oscar of Nigerian healthcare. 

Global Health Project and Resources (GHPR) in conjunction with Anadach Group in the United States is hosting the awards.